Review: Due Date (2010)

Due Date is a comedy-road trip film which stars Robert Downey, Jr. (Iron Man), Zach Galifianakis (The Hangover) and Michelle Monaghan (Eagle Eye). The film is directed by Todd Phillips (Road Trip, Old School and The Hangover).

The basic plot of the film is that Peter Highman (Downey, Jr.) has to get back home to Los Angeles to be present for the birth of his first child with his wife, Sarah Highman (Michelle Monaghan). But this hits a snag when Peter bumps into Ethan Tremblay (Zach Galifianakis) on the plane, Ethan without realising it uses words like Terrorist and Bomb whilst talking to Peter and subsequently gets them both kicked off the plane and onto the ‘No Fly List’. This then leaves Peter to find other means of transport back to LA but realising he has left his wallet on the plane he is forced to travel with Ethan, the man who got him kicked of the plane is the first place.

I was very disappointed by the film and, like everything the trailers took most of the humour. Always the problem when it comes to comedy films. The film though did have high expectations being that Todd Phillips last film, The Hangover (2009) was incredibly popular and hilarious.

I don’t think I actually laughed out loud once during the film, I mean I don’t know if its because I saw it on my own during the day but it was all a bit ‘meh’. I think we were spoiled by The Hangover to be fair. Robert Downey, Jr. seemed like he wasn’t that interested being there and Zach Galifianakis did alright doing his same sort of character. Also, I don’t know what the deal was with the kind of sub-plot with Jamie Fox was about and really needed.

The direction from Todd Phillips is great though, like most of his films but I feel that the script is poor with bad jokes that just arn’t that funny. My advice would be ignore this and just watch Planes, Trains and Automobiles (1987). I’m giving the film 2/5.

Leave a Reply

