My life in Film: 1989 – Present

Time for a list, this time its my life in film (Idea I saw from @FrontRoomCinema). I have picked one film from each year of my life. Obviously some years were very hard to choose from. What i’ve done is chosen some of my favourites with a few curveballs for personal reasons.

So here we are! What did you think of my list? Any favourites? Tell me some of your yearly life films. Comments at the bottom.

1989 – BACK TO THE FUTURE: PART II // The time-traveling is just too dangerous. Better that I devote myself to study the other great mystery of the universe: women!”

1990 – GOODFELLAS // You mean, let me understand this cause, ya know maybe it’s me, I’m a little fucked up maybe, but I’m funny how, I mean funny like I’m a clown, I amuse you? I make you laugh, I’m here to fuckin’ amuse you? What do you mean funny, funny how? How am I funny?”


1991 – J.F.K. // One pristine bullet? That dog don’t hunt!”


1992 – RESERVOIR DOGS // Let me tell you what ‘Like a Virgin’ is about. It’s all about a girl who digs a guy with a big dick. The entire song. It’s a metaphor for big dicks.”


1993 – COOL RUNNINGS // Feel the rhythm! Feel the rhyme! Get on up, its bobsled time! COOL RUNNINGS!”


1994 – CLERKS // I’m not even supposed to be here today!”


1995 – APOLLO 13 // We’ve never lost an American in space, we’re sure as hell not gonna lose one on my watch! Failure is not an option.”


1996 – FARGO // Just keep it still back there, lady, or we’re going to have to, you know, shoot you.”


1997 – GROSSE POINTE BLANK // Dr. Oatman, please pick up, pick up! It’s Martin Blank! I, I’m standing where my, uh, living room was and it’s not here because my house is gone and it’s an Ultimart! You can never go home again, Oatman… but I guess you can shop there.”


1998 – RUSHMORE // Maybe I’m spending too much of my time starting up clubs and putting on plays. I should probably be trying harder to score chicks.”


1999 – TOY STORY 2 // And this is the Buzz Lightyear aisle. Back in 1995, short-sighted retailers did not order enough dolls to meet demand.”


2000 – HIGH FIDELITY // Did I listen to pop music because I was miserable? Or was I miserable because I listened to pop music?”


2001 – EVOLUTION // So, do they give the Nobel Prize out in yearly payments or is it just one lump sum, like the lottery?”


2002 – GANGS OF NEW YORK // You see this knife? I’m gonna teach you to speak English with this fucking knife!”


2003 – LOST IN TRANSLATION // You’re probably just having a mid-life crisis. Did you buy a Porsche yet?”


2004 – ANCHORMAN // Oh Audrey – I look like hell! I got bags under my eyes. What’s that? Well if you were a man, I’d punch you. Punch you right in the mouth. That’s bush. Bush league. YOU HEAR ME? AUDREY! LOOK AT ME! I’m sorry. I’m sorry. Alright?”


2005 – BATMAN BEGINS // If you make yourself more than just a man, if you devote yourself to an ideal and if they can’t stop you, you become something else entirely – a legend, Mister Wayne.”


2006 – CHILDREN OF MEN // Your baby is the miracle the whole world has been waiting for.”


2007 – 3:10 TO YUMA // I’ve been standin on one leg for three damn years waitin for God to do me a favor… and He ain’t listening.”


2008 – TROPIC THUNDER // Same thing happened to me when I played Neil Armstrong in Moonshot. They found me in an alley in Burbank trying to re-enter the earth’s atmosphere in an old refrigerator box.”


2009 – STAR TREK // Dammit, man! I’m a doctor, not a physicist!”


2010 – THE SOCIAL NETWORK // You know, you really don’t need a forensics team to get to the bottom of this. If you guys were the inventors of Facebook, you’d have invented Facebook.”


2011 – GRIFF THE INVISIBLE // Before I tell you this, you have to commit to a vow of secrecy unlike any other.”


written by
Luke

Leave a Reply

