Review: The Green Hornet (2011)

The Green Hornet is the latest film from visionary french director Michel Gondry, who also directed Be Kind Rewind and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. It’s a superhero comedy film starring Seth Rogen, Jay Chouand Cameron Diaz with a support cast of Christoph Waltz and Tom Wilkinson. Seth Rogen co-wrote the screenplay along with Evan Goldberg. The film was released in 3D which I was annoyed at because of my displeasure for 3D, but that’s a different argument. The Green Hornet has been one of the top films for me to see in January and I’m glad I’ve caught it, and its actually pretty good.

Seth Rogen plays Britt Reid son of James Reid played by Tom Wilkinson. James Reid is found dead and leaves his Newspaper, The Daily Sentinel to Britt. Without seeing previous source material for The Green Hornet I’ll say that Seth Rogen is standard in the film. He’s neither special or a disappointment, he’s just Seth Rogen which means you could of been watching either Knocked Up or Observe & Report. But this doesn’t mean its bad, the comedic delivery from him is great and the script is pretty decent as you can see from the Goldberg-Rogen writing.

Jay Chou, who plays Kato and Cameron Diaz, who plays Lenore Case provide supporting roles that help Britt Reid. Jay Chou has come out of nowhere for me but I liked his performance as the sidekick to Rogen’s Reid. His action sequences was a very satisfying watch and felt fresh, but a lot of that was down to Michel Gondry’s unique style of cinematography. Cameron Diaz didn’t do a lot if I’m honest, I think it was sense of putting her in the widen the audience but she did her bit.

Christoph Waltz plays Benjamin Chudnofsky, the villain of the film who is somewhat going through a midlife crisis as the annoyance of The Green Hornet buzzes around him . I don’t know what it is about Christoph Waltz but that man really is a film stealer. He’s an actor that I’m captivated by his performances and just want to see more off. He really makes the film for me and it was nice to see him in a more relaxed role.

Michel Gondry is one of those unique directors that you tell has been in a film. The visuals of The Green Hornet are just amazing, and the editing of the picture is impressive. Gondry knows how to portray effects uniquely. He’s giving more freedom to express his ideas I feel more so than his previous film, Be Kind Rewind.

On the whole I actually enjoyed watching it, even with my distaste for 3D it was one of the better films I’ve seen in that format. Fans of Rogen will thoroughly enjoy it and his comedy style as well as Gondry fans for his attention to effects and visuals. It might not get many critics on its side but The Green Hornet is light hearted superhero film that is defiantly worth a watch on a Friday/Saturday night with your friends.

Leave a Reply

