Review: The Inbetweeners Movie (2011)

Will, Neil, Simon and Jay, four socially troubled eighteen-year-olds from the south of England go on holiday to Malia.

From TV set to the cinema screen. The Inbetweeners Movie is a full feature length ending to the boys we’ve grown to disgustingly love throughout there 3 seasons on on E4. Now I’m going to be honest when I hardly watch the show when it was on, but when I caught the trailer I had to see it. I didn’t think this hampered my view as I’ve heard numerous quotes from friends to know enough from the story.

If your thinking its going to be like Kevin & Perry Go Large then think again, its much more rounded and realistic, a film that quite a number of people could relate to, including me. I actually went to Malia, Crete on a ‘lads’ holiday which made the film an extra 10% funnier for those memories I had.

As for the film itself, it does not disappoint. If you loved the TV show you will love the movie. It is simply hilarious with gag-for-gag and littered with tonnes of quotes that I’m sure will be rolling off many tongues through the year.

From start to finish it remains it’s comedic values and doesn’t really slack. Aside from the comedy we are also given equal measures of awkward and cringe-worthy scenes, but would you expect anything less from these boys? The Inbetweeners Movie is incredibly funny that also boasts a lot of heart as well. I’m no doubt when I say this is one of the funniest films of the year, and I rate it higher than The Hangover: Part II. And you can’t argue the fact it took in £13.2m in the opening weekend, most successful British comedy ever? Looks to be. It’s a must see and you’ll all enjoy the intoxicated ride with the boys.

Comments
2 Responses to “Review: The Inbetweeners Movie (2011)”
  1. Raghav says:

    Although I like the series a lot for its boldness and brashness, I found the movie to be too much of a wannabe. On the one hand it’s so much better than Amrican Pie because it doesn’t hide much, but I order to attract the female audience it tries to be too much female centric as well.

    • Luke Grima says:

      Thing is, I never watched the TV show but I knew enough to go into the film. I don’t its comparable to American Pie as there two different teen films. I wouldn’t be in a rush to watch this again but not in a negative way, it was kinda in the moment viewing. 

Leave a Reply

