LOVEFiLM Review: The Town (2010)

Boston bank robber Doug MacRay (Ben Affleck) falls for a woman his gang had previously taken hostage after feigning a chance meeting with her to ensure that she can’t identify them in Affleck’s adaptation of author Chuck Hogan’s novel Prince of Thieves.

One of the films I wanted to to see in that year but never got round to it. I wish I had because this was brilliant. Who knew Ben Affleck could direct something so solid, confident and intense. Everything was near perfect.

I do think my downfall with this film was watching the extended cut first which is a whopping 2 hours 30 mins. I would of benefited more with the cinematic version. Also on another side note I realise I don’t really like the Boston accent.

Leave a Reply

