War is hell: My top 10 War Films

“War is Hell” – William Tecumseh Sherman. 

Now I do love a good war film, not because I’m a ‘war monger’ or love violence. I find the genre and time periods extremely interesting, I love the historical (and sometimes non-historical) accuracy of many war films.

Here are my Top 10 favourite War Films.

10. BLACK HAWK DOWN – Remember, we’re Rangers not some sorry-ass JROTC. We’re Elite. Let’s act like it out there. Hoo-ah?” 


9. PLATOON – I love this place at night. The stars… there’s no right or wrong in them. They’re just there.”


8. THE THIN RED LINE – I’ve lived with these men, sir, for two and a half years and I will not order them all to their deaths.”


7. THREE KINGS – Walter, just stand outside so Chief can translate my Iraqi ass map… okay?” 


6. MASH – I wonder how such a degenerated person ever reached a position of authority in the Army Medical Corps.”

5. THE HURT LOCKER – There’s enough bang in there to blow us all to Jesus. If I’m gonna die, I want to die comfortable.”


4. APOCALYPSE NOW – We must kill them. We must incinerate them. Pig after pig… cow after cow… village after village… army after army…”


3. INGLOURIOUS BASTERDS –You probably heard we ain’t in the prisoner-takin’ business; we in the killin’ Nazi business. And cousin, business is a-boomin’.”

2. FULL METAL JACKET – What is your major malfunction, numbnuts? Didn’t Mommy and Daddy show you enough attention when you were a child?”


1. SAVING PRIVATE RYAN – What I mean by that, sir, is if you was to put me and this here sniper rifle anywhere up to and including one mile from Adolf Hitler… with a clean line of sight… Pack your bags, fellas. War’s over. Amen.”


Leave a Reply

