Review: Wanderlust (2012)

“My name’s Wayne by the way. I’m a nudist.”

George (Rudd) and Linda (Aniston) are an overextended, stressed out Manhattan couple. After George is downsized out of his job, they find themselves with only one option: to move in with George’s awful brother in Atlanta. On the way there, George and Linda stumble upon Elysium, an idyllic community populated by colorful characters who embrace a different way of looking at things. Money? It can’t buy happiness. Careers? Who needs them? Clothes? Only if you want them. Is Elysium the fresh start George and Linda need? Or will the change of perspective cause more problems than it solves? – ROTTEN TOMATOES

Wanderlust is the latest film from David Wain, who’s last commercial outing was the highly funny and successful Role Models from 2008. Both that and Wanderlust star Paul Rudd. Apart from Rudd, Wanderlust also stars Jennifer Aniston, Justin Theroux and Alan Alda. Now this film wasn’t really on my high priority list to see, but unfortunately we seem to be in cinema wilderness at the moment. Oscar films are over and we still have a few months to wait for the blockbusters. This is generally the period where the either terrible, forgettable or the quirky films get released. So what does  Wanderlust come under? Well lets find out.

The main selling point of Wanderlust for me was Paul Rudd. I’m a fan of his and find him very watchable in everything he’s done. He’s a solid comedic actor that is very likeable. (I’ve tried to get #LoveTheRudd trending on Twitter, alas, no dice.) Anyway, back on track. Although I am a big fan of Mr. Rudd he’s not exactly doing anything new, at least comedy wise. He was very amusing but a good amount seemed a little forced or try-hard that I couldn’t get on board with. Like I said he is very watchable and does a good job considering the let downs from his character.

Jennifer Aniston appears to be on the up again after a string of terrible films. I really liked her role in last years film Horrible Bosses. Aniston’s character comes across rather unlikable in my view and it was hard to be on her side. She gives out a good yet easily forgettable performance, but this still goes down as a good Jennifer Aniston film.

The main supporting cast are actually really good who often have the best lines. Justin Theroux as the hippie commune leader Seth is hilarious. He clearly knows little of what is actually real and the world itself. He’s obnoxious but in an idiotic way. Alan Alda was also a pleasant surprise and Carvin, who owns half the ranch which the commune resides upon. Other mentions should go to Kathryn Hahn, Malin Åkerman and Joe Lo Truglio.

So what of the film? Well I thinks more Wandergood than Wanderlust. I just didn’t think it was anything more than a good film. The performances are kinda average and so are the jokes with sporadic hilarity. Paul Rudd is still awesome in my book, I just wished I could have liked it and found it funny more. Having said that Wanderlust is certainly not the worst film you could see this month.

Comments
2 Responses to “Review: Wanderlust (2012)”
  1. FrontRoomCinema says:

    Nice review my friend. I am pretty interested in seeing this one, but I guess I might just wait for a BD release! Thanks dude

Leave a Reply

