Review: American Reunion (2012)

“Back in the day we called it a beaver… and I snagged a pelt or two!”

In the comedy American Reunion, all the American Pie characters we met a little more than a decade ago return to East Great Falls for their high-school reunion. In one long-overdue weekend, they will discover what has changed, who hasn’t and that time and distance can’t break the bonds of friendship. It was summer 1999 when four small-town Michigan boys began a quest to lose their virginity. In the years that have passed, Jim and Michelle married while Kevin and Vicky said goodbye. Oz and Heather grew apart, but Finch still longs for Stifler’s mom. Now these lifelong friends have come home as adults to reminisce about-and get inspired by-the hormonal teens who launched a comedy legend.

American Reunion is the fourth instalment of the ‘original’ American Pie series. I say original because we ignore the slew of diabolical direct to DVD releases of “American Pie: Presents…” . In Reunion we are rejoined with gang from the original film and subsequent American Pie 2 and American Wedding. I should point out though that I am a fan of this film series. Yes I know there technically not brilliant but I love the characters immensely and I’ve kinda grown up with them at the same time. Yes, nostalgia plays a big reason for me and the film itself.

I’m gonna go straight out and say I enjoyed American Reunion. I know it’s been slated a bit but I have such fondness and love for these characters that it was enough for me to find it satisfying. The characters are exactly the same just older and ever so slightly more mature, well except for Stifler that is. Jason Biggs and Sean William Scott reprise their roles as Jim and Stifler respectfully and are just as awkward, disgusting and funny from the earlier three.

We also see near enough the original gang and some familiar faces, somewhat rushed though towards the end when cramming them in at the last second. Having said that though Eugene Levy and his eyebrows were on top form in American Reunion which garnered some hearty chuckles from me. I think the story was a decent one to go with as a reunion fits well. It’s still progressing on how these boys have grown out of high school, to college, marriage life and beyond.

Overall I enjoyed American Reunion. I don’t think if your invested with the characters from the previous films you would find this as funny or even rewarding. I’ve grown up with these guys and the films remain guilty pleasures. If you liked American Pie then you will like American Reunion.

Leave a Reply

