Liebster Award Blog-a-thon

Sam McCosh from ‘An Online Universe’ kindly passed the Liebster Award onto me. As I lack creativity sometimes this was an ideal opportunity to get a new post up on the site!

The rules for this award are as follows:

  1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves.
  2. Answer the 11 questions the person giving the award has set for you.
  3. Create 11 questions for the people you will be giving the award to
  4. Choose 11 people to award and send them a link to your post.
  5. Go to their page and tell them
  6. No tag backs.

11 Facts About Me:

  1. Withnail & I is my all time top favourite film.
  2. I’m a trained Scuba Diver.
  3. I went to the same school that Robert Smith of The Cure did (St. Wilfrids).
  4. I play drums but also guitar and bass.
  5. I can handle everything violent in films except bone breaking. Just the sound and action make me wince.
  6. The last film I saw in the cinema was ‘Ted’.
  7. As of this post I have yet to see Blade Runner.
  8. My favourite actor is Tom Hanks.
  9. Favourite TV shows include The Wire, Oz, 30 Rock, Arrested Development, The League of Gentleman and Black Books.
  10. I’ve been to Sydney five times and consider it my second home.
  11. I don’t like horror films and thus I ignore them completely.

11 questions from Sam:

  1. Who would play you in the movie of your life? // – Well if I’m going to for realistic I guess probably Michael Cera in either a Judd Apatow or Wes Anderson style of film.
  2. What is your worst cinema-going experience? // – I don’t think I’ve really ever had one, I did have to watch 127 Hours at the front row due to it being busy, and seeing *that* scene so in your face…bleugh.
  3. Do you own a blu-ray player? If so, is it better? If not, why not? // – Yes I do! And yes, blu-ray is the best ever. I was never that bothered until I upgraded my TV to a larger one, now I buy blu 90% of the time and even replace current DVDs – but only if the blu’s are on special offer. The clarity on some films are just wonderful and outstanding. True cinephiles will go blu!
  4. If you could attend any film festival in the world, which would it be? // – Tough choice, I did London Film Festival 2011 which was good fun but I’d like to either see Sundance or SXSW for something different
  5. Which three people in the film industry (living or dead) would you have dinner with if you could? // – Wow, very hard decision this. At the moment I’m thinking Kevin Smith, Tom Hanks and John Hughes. I think this dinner would evoke a very unique and hilarious conversations.
  6. Which book would you like to see adapted? // – I kinda can’t really answer this because I’m not a reader, sorry.
  7. 3D – A fad or something that could be/is exciting? // – Definitely a fad! I hate 3D with every calcium cell in my body. It’s overpriced, eyes hurt and you lose like 30% of the colour. IMAX is the true future of modern cinema.
  8. Who or what inspired you to write about film? // – Back in the day probably Roger Ebert but now its more the local critics like Robbie Collin and Chris Hewitt but really just all the other bloggers.
  9. What is your most anticipated film for the 2nd half of 2012? // – Probably Paul Thomas Anderson’s The Master. That has me all ears until its release!
  10. Which actor/actress automatically turns you off seeing a film? // – Ones that come to mind at the moment are Katherine Heigl, Taylor Lautner and Danny Dyer.
  11. What is the most overrated classic film? // – Depends on what you define classic really. I haven’t really seen any of the Sight & Sound best films which are regarded as the ‘best’ films of all time. I don’t think I could answer this fairly so I’m gonna pass.

 

11 questions from me:

  1.  Has your favourite director made a ‘dud’ film?
  2. What was you first cinematic experience that you can remember and at what age?
  3. What is your least favourite genre of films?
  4. How much money do you spend a month on films a month? This includes cinema, on demand, blu-rays, etc…
  5. What has been the worst film you’ve seen in 2012 so far?
  6. If you listen to them, whats your favourite film podcasts?
  7. Who do you rate as a film critic?
  8. Do you read reviews before you see a film for the first time and does it affect your opinion?
  9. Who in your opinion is the future of cinema in terms of directors?
  10. Whats your favourite Disney and Pixar film?
  11. True or false, Michael Bay?

 

Now I’m going to nominate and pass this onto Matt Mansfield, Jamie Neish, Daniel Sareth, Ross Miller and Charlie Derry

 

 

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Liebster Award Blog-a-thon”
  1. Because I am playing the role of Buzz Killington in this (this is basically just a step above the “if you don’t pass this on to ten of your friends that girl from the Ring will murder you in your sleep” chain texts), I’m just going to answer the questions:

    Yes. Wong Kar-Wai is probably my favourite filmmaker, and My Blueberry Nights is verging on unwatchable.

    I saw Babe at the Silver Screen cinema in Folkestone when I was about 4. I loved it.

    Fantasy movies. Can’t stand them (particularly films that invent their own languages). 

    I don’t really go to the cinema a lot because I don’t live near a good one, but I buy DVD’s and Blu-Ray a lot, and I have a LoveFilm account. Probably £25-£30. Not loads.

    I try to avoid as much of the crap as I can, but I really didn’t like Avengers Assemble. Nothing more than two and a half hours of cringeworthy dialogue and mindless violence. Entertaining, yes, but I’m almost certainly not going to watch it again.  

    I like the UltraCulture podcast quite a lot, but my favourite is probably The Criterion Cast. I also like Cinematic Dramatic and Film Clash.

    Peter Bradshaw, A.O. Scott, Robbie Collin and Armond White. 

    Yes and yes. Of course reading reviews affects your opinions of a film – reviews alter your expectations, which can make or break opinions of a film.

    In an ideal world, I would say Lena Dunham, because she’s the most interesting young director around. But, we don’t live in an ideal world, and I fear the future of cinema will be decided by the likes of Christopher Nolan and James Cameron, which is quite a depressing thought.

    Ratatouille. Hands down Pixar’s greatest achievement to date – from both technical and narrative perspectives.

    I’m not sure what you mean by this, so I’m going to say true – I mean, he does exist, and his films aren’t the worst things to come out of Hollywood lately.

  2. 1. Yes. Wong Kar-Wai is probably my favourite filmmaker, and My Blueberry Nights is verging on unwatchable.

    2. I saw Babe at the Silver Screen cinema in Folkestone when I was about 4. I loved it.

    3. Fantasy movies. Can’t stand them (particularly films that invent their own languages). 

    4. I don’t really go to the cinema a lot because I don’t live near a good one, but I buy DVD’s and Blu-Ray a lot, and I have a LoveFilm account. Probably £25-£30. Not loads.

    5. I try to avoid as much of the crap as I can, but I really didn’t like Avengers Assemble. Nothing more than two and a half hours of cringeworthy dialogue and mindless violence. Entertaining, yes, but I’m almost certainly not going to watch it again.  

    6. I like the UltraCulture podcast quite a lot, but my favourite is probably The Criterion Cast. I also like Cinematic Dramatic and Film Clash.

    7. Peter Bradshaw, A.O. Scott, Robbie Collin and Armond White. 

    8. Yes and yes. Of course reading reviews affects your opinions of a film – reviews alter your expectations, which can make or break opinions of a film.

    9. In an ideal world, I would say Lena Dunham, because she’s the most interesting young director around. But, we don’t live in an ideal world, and I fear the future of cinema will be decided by the likes of Christopher Nolan and James Cameron, which is quite a depressing thought.

    10. Ratatouille. Hands down Pixar’s greatest achievement to date – from both technical and narrative perspectives.

    11. I’m not sure what you mean by this, so I’m going to say true – I mean, he does exist, and his films aren’t the worst things to come out of Hollywood lately

Leave a Reply

