Born Into Film: Top 10 of 1989

The ‘Born Into Film’ series of lists is the brainchild of Mike P Williams, formerly a staff writer at FrontRoomCinema. The idea is simple:

List a group of films that were released on the year you were born that you would still like to watching today. No rules on list length, it is up to you. As a bonus, list 3 people or so that were born the same year as you that you admire, either because of their acting / directing / writing skills, or even just because they are hot.

1989! Bit of a mixed year really. The 80’s finally coming to end as we transition to the next decade but what was it like for films? Well it was sequels galore! But somewhat decent sequels none the less. So let me transport you back 22 years ago! Cue wavy screen-with-harp-music… *dulerdoo dulerdoo dulerdoo*

BACK TO THE FUTURE PART II

Marty McFly and Doc Brown return for the second instalment in one of my favourite film franchises ever. Back To The Future Part II might not be the best sequel among critics but I bloody love this film. It’s full of items that we all craved straight after! Hoverboard and power laced Nikes anyone!?

INDIANA JONES AND THE LAST CRUSADE

The third instalment and the last film in the trilogy (back then anyways). The Last Crusade is probably my favourite Indy sequel, mainly due to the genius inclusion of Sean Connery as Henry Jones. “Junior!”.

HONEY I SHRUNK THE KIDS

Honey I Shrunk The Kids was a firm favourite during my childhood, the sets were utterly awesome for the time and so were the effects. Directed by Joe Johnson who would then give us The Rocketeer and Captain America.

LETHAL WEAPON 2

Riggs and Murtaugh aren’t ‘too old for this shit’ just yet, in fact there still getting started! I love the Lethal Weapon series just as much as Die Hard. The introduction of Joe Pesci is a slice of comic genius, “Diplomatic immunity”

BILL AND TEDS EXCELLENT ADVENTURE

I watched this film hundreds of times when I was growing up, I found it hilarious and exciting at the same time. So much so I used to try to recreate the time traveling by going behind the living room door with the old corded telephone!

UNCLE BUCK

This film is a timeless classic. Probably one of the late great John Candy’s best. It’s funny and incredibly sweet. I remember the kitchen door swing smack had me in stitches that I would ALWAYS rewind to watch again and again on the old VHS tape.

GHOSTBUSTERS II

A lot don’t seem to like Ghostbusters II, granted in comparison to the first its a blob of slime but I think it’s still got that ‘buster charm and wit. Plus Bill Murray is still on top form.

PARENTHOOD

Ron Howard’s comedy/drama is seriously underrated. Another film I remember watching a fair few times. Had a great ensemble cast and some decent performances, but I will always remember it for that certain ‘bowel movement’ song…

THE ABYSS

I’m not a big James Cameron fan but strangely The Abyss is one of his films I have seen several times, more so than Terminator! I think I loved the deep-sea aquatic storyline, even if it is over 145 minutes!

TURNER & HOOCH

It’s a Tom Hanks film, ’nuff said right? You can’t go wrong with Turner & Hooch. A cop with a sidekick dog that slobbers and chews everything in sight!

Notable actresses born in ’89

Lily Collins

Hayden Panettiere

Mia Wasikowska

Elizabeth Olsen

Notable actors born in ’89

Daniel Radcliffe

Anton Yelchin

Christopher Mintz-Plasse

Nicholas Hoult

Leave a Reply

